Shortlist for October’s Highways Awards Announced, with Winners to be Revealed at the Lancaster London

Everyone involved in the road construction industry knows about the Highways Awards, although it was formerly referred to – and some may still know it - as the Highways Magazine Excellence Awards. This year’s Highways Awards is scheduled for the 18th of October, a Wednesday, and there will be a much-anticipated gala evening event in Lancaster London, which will be hosted by presenter Julia Bradbury (known for the TV travelogues Best Walks with a View and Britain’s Best Walks).

Celebrating at last years Highway Awards

Celebrating at last years Highway Awards

But the shortlist for the Highways Awards has just been announced, and the list is something that is eagerly anticipated by those involved in the road construction and repair sector. The shortlist includes awards and commendations such as the Most Innovative Highway Authority Scheme of the Year, the Site Safety Initiative Award, the Road Safety Scheme of the Year, and more.

The shortlist  

 For the Most Innovative Highway Authority Scheme of the Year, the list of nominees include Kier (for the M6 Northeast Spur and Rushall Canal Bridges re-waterproofing scheme), the London Borough of Waltham Forest (for the ‘Enjoy Waltham Forest’ scheme), Kier Services (for S-Skills), and the Bristol City Council along with Alun Griffiths (Contractors) Ltd for the South Bristol Link.

The Site Safety Initiative Award shortlist, on the other hand, includes Tarmac, Balfour Beatty VINCI, Jackson Civil Engineering, and the WJ Group. For Road Safety Scheme of the Year, the nominees are as follows: Scotland TranServ (for the Annual Moving Cursor Programme) and KierWSP (for the CarKraft Driver Improvement Scheme). 
When it comes to the Road Marking Project of the Year, the nominees include the WJ Group, Kier, and Highways England for the M55/M6 High Specification Road Marking Upgrade; Amey and Transport Scotland for the Solar Stud Programme, and the Lancashire County Council for the Bank Bridge project. 

The list of Major Project Award nominees, meanwhile, include Balfour Beatty VINCI (for Junctions 4a – 6 on the M5 – Smart Motorway Programme); Aggregate Industries UK Ltd and Costain Ltd for the A556 Knutsford to Bowdon Environmental Improvement project; Morgan Sindall for the A1 L2B robotic construction project, and Skanska for the project on the M1’s Junction 19.

Other awards include the Highway Industry Product of the Year, the Team of the Year, the Highway Partnership Award (with the shortlist including the Dorset County Council and Hanson UK; the West Sussex County Council and Balfour Beatty; the Suffolk County Council and Kier; and the Essex County Council and Ringway Jacobs), the Highways Maintenance Efficiency Award, the Award for the Best Use of New Technology in the Highways Industry, the Apprentice of the Year, and the Judges Special Merit Award.

Posted on 11 Sep 2017 in News

Other Related Posts on News

Like most websites we use cookies to give you the best experience, by using this website you agree to their use. For more information please read our privacy policy.